IN THE WORLD WIDE WEB

Biography

“I sailed away from N[üesch] with spectacular effect. Come and see me when you have time, I’ll tell you a good story.“

Albert Einstein to Conrad Habicht, February 4, 1902

EINSTEIN IN SCHAFFHAUSEN

At the beginning of September 1901, Einstein wrote to his former school friend Marcel Grossmann: “However, I am now also in the happy position of having gotten rid of the perpetual worry about my livelihood for at least one year. That’s to say that as of September 15 I will be employed as a private tutor by a teacher of mathematics, a so-called Dr. J. Nüesch, in Schaffhausen, where I’ll have to prepare a young Englishman for the Matura examinations. You can imagine how happy I am, even though such a position is not ideal for an independent nature. Still, I believe that it will leave me some time for my favorite studies so that at least I shall not become rusty.“

However, the one year which was mentioned in the letter, should only become four and a half months.

Schaffhausen, the northernmost canton of Switzerland, belongs to the northeast and east of Switzerland. The main place and at the same time the largest place of the canton is the city of Schaffhausen with the same name which had, at the time of Einstein, approximately 15,000 inhabitants. From Schaffhausen to Winterthur the distance is approximately 30 km, to Zurich approximately 55 km.

The Swiss pedagogue and prehistorian Dr. Jakob Nüesch (1845-1915) in August 1901 and per advertisement in the Schweizerischen Lehrer-Zeitung [Swiss Teacher Newspaper] looked for an assistant for his boys boarding house in Schaffhausen. Thanks to the recommendation of his former school friend Jakob Ehrat, Einstein got the position.

1 residential building and school building of Dr. Jakob Nüesch

Coming from Winterthur, where he had been working at his dissertation for some time, Einstein came to Schaffhausen in the middle of September 1901. There he lived at first in Fulachstrasse 22 in the house of his employer Dr. Nüesch, who operated a private “Teaching and Educating Institution“. He was married, had three daughters, and one son. It was Einstein‘s task to prepare the nineteen year old Englishman Louis Cahen, who wanted to study Architecture at the ETH in Zurich, for the Matura. Teacher and student are told to have been on reasonable terms. Thus, the Einstein biographer Carl Seelig wrote: “However, on both sides, the learning and teaching eagerness seems to have been tempered.“ From this time, there are still two workbooks available which were corrected by Einstein, and which are filled with mathematical formulas and drawings. Today, they can be found in the city archive of Schaffhausen.

2, 3 workbooks of Louis Cahen – with notes of Einstein

After some weeks, Einstein no longer felt well in his lodging in Nüesch’s house. There more and more often were disputes and arguments between Einstein and Nüesch.

Einstein looked for another room and found it in Fulachstrasse 6 with the married teachers Cäcilia and Carl Baumer. With regard to his new room, Einstein wrote to Mileva on November 28: “It is very cozy in the new room, even though its only ornaments are myself and the dear red lampshade, …“

In the same letter it says: “I am living here as if I were completely alone, since I do not see anybody privately.“

In a letter to Mileva he wrote on December 12: “I therefore decided to set up myself here as comfortably as possible. I therefore went to N[üesch] and told him to give me the money the money for the meals, so that eventually I might save a little money. He said, a flush with rage, that he has to think about it. Then he conferred with his fine little spouse. When I returned in the evening, he was very snotty and told me, with an authoritative expression: ‚You know our conditions, there is no reason to deviate from them. You can be quite satisfied with the treatment you are getting.‘ And I said: ‚Very well, as you like, I have to give in for the time being. – I’ll know how to find living conditions that suit me better.’ (Imagine what nerve, in my position!) He understood that and softened up immediately. He noticed that I am less concerned with saving money than with not wanting to eat with him and his fine family, swallowed his rage, and told me as softly as he could: ‚Would you be satisfied if I arranged for your meals somewhere, in a restaurant?’ I immediately understood why he wanted that – so that it shouldn’t be possible to calculate how much he steals from the 4,000 fr. put out for me. So I happily agreed and took my leave, remarking that he should make the arrangements as quickly as possible, I had attained my goal, after all. They are now foaming at their mouths with rage against me, but I am now as free as the next man. […] Long live impudence! It’s my guardian angel in this world.“

As he also did not like the schoolmasterly idyll which was prevailing at the Baumer family, he looked for a new room in December. He found it in Bahnhofstrasse 102 above the restaurant “Cardinal“ where he lived until the end of his teaching position in Schaffhausen.

Einstein got along well with his student, despite his missing eagerness to learn. He even shortly thought about taking him with him to Bern later, to continue to teach him there. However, this plan did not become reality.

On December 18, 1901, Einstein had, through his former school friend Marcel Grossmann, applied for a job at the patent office in Bern.

In Schaffhausen, Einstein found no conversation partner with whom he had been able to talk about current topics of physics. However, he intensively dealt with physics. Thus, he wrote to Mileva on December 17, 1901: “I am now very eagerly working on an electrodynamics of moving bodies, which promises to become a capital paper.“ In 1905, this work finally led to the publication of his “special theory on relativity“. He also worked at his dissertation which he handed in at the University of Zurich in November 1901, but already withdrew it in February 1902.

With his friend Conrad Habicht who lived in Schaffhausen he had the opportunity to play the violin together, or to go to classical concerts, which he liked. To Mileva he wrote on November 28: “The evening of the day before yesterday the local music teachers organized an evening of chamber music, which was delightful beyond my expectations.“ On December 11, he even had the opportunity to play the violin at a subscription concert together with Habicht and the other members. His other friend in Schaffhausen, Jakob Ehrat, lived and worked in Zurich at this time.

4 Mileva Maric, ca. 1896

To be able to be near to her beloved one, Mileva Maric stayed some days in Stein am Rhein, approximately 20 km away from Schaffhausen, in the hotel Steinerhof. Mileva expected her first child. Einstein, who was in love, tried to visit his pregnant girlfriend whenever it was possible. However, due to financial reasons this was not possible very often. Thus, Mileva wrote on November 13, 1901: “So now you are again not coming tomorrow! And you don’t even say: I am coming on Sunday instead! But you’ll surprise me then for sure, won’t you? […] But you really don’t have any money left? Very nice! You earn 150 fr., have bed and board, and don’t have a centime at the end of the month!“

Albert Einstein’s stay in Schaffhausen and his teaching position there ended before time at the end of January 1902.

In February, 1902, Einstein was 23 years old and came to Bern, where he took up a position as technical expert of the 3rd class at the Swiss office for intellectual property in June.

Illustrations Credits:
© Stadtarchiv Schaffhausen: 1, 2, 3
Schweizerisches Literaturarchiv (SLA), Bern: 4

Bibliography:

Albrecht FölsingAlbert Einstein. Eine BiographieFrankfurt on the Main 1993
John Stachel, u.a.The Collected Papers of Albert Einstein, Volume 1Princeton 1987
Carl SeeligAlbert Einstein. Eine dokumentarische BiographieZurich 1954
Martin CordesAlbert Einstein in Schaffhausen
Begleitheft zur Ausstellung
Schaffhausen 2005
Anna Beck,
Translator
Peter Havas,
Consultant
The Collected Papers of Albert Einstein, Volume 1
English translation of selected texts
Princeton 1987

IN THE WORLD WIDE WEB

Biografie

„Ich bin von N[üesch] mit Knalleffekt abgesegelt. Besuchen Sie mich,
wann Sie Zeit haben, dann erzähle ich Ihnen ein gelungenes Histörchen.“

Albert Einstein an Conrad Habicht, 4. Februar 1902

EINSTEIN IN SCHAFFHAUSEN

Anfang September 1901 schrieb Einstein an seinen ehemaligen Kommilitonen Marcel Grossmann: „Doch bin ich nun auch in der glücklichen Lage, wenigstens für ein Jahr die ewige Nahrungssorge los zu sein. Ich bin nämlich vom 15. September an bei einem Mathematiklehrer in Schaffhausen, einem gewissen Dr. J Nüesch als Privatlehrer angestellt, wo ich einen jungen Engländer für die Maturität vorzubereiten habe. Du kannst Dir denken, wie glücklich ich darüber bin, wenn auch eine solche Stelle für eine selbstständige Natur nicht gerade ein Ideal ist. Doch glaube ich, daß dabei immerhin noch ein wenig Zeit für meine Lieblingsstudien übrig bleibt, so daß ich wenigstens nicht dabei einrosten muß.“

Aus dem in dem Brief erwähnten einen Jahr sollten es aber nur 4 ½ Monate werden.

Schaffhausen, der nördlichste Kanton der Schweiz gehört zur Nordost- und Ostschweiz. Der Hauptort und zugleich größte Ort des Kantons ist die gleichnamige Stadt Schaffhausen die zur Zeit Einsteins ca. 15.000 Einwohner hatte. Von Schaffhausen nach Winterthur beträgt die Entfernung ca. 30 km, nach Zürich ca. 55 km.

Der Schweizer Pädagoge und Prähistoriker Dr. Jakob Nüesch (1845-1915) suchte im August 1901 per Inserat in der Schweizerischen Lehrer-Zeitung für seine Knabenpension in Schaffhausen eine Hilfskraft. Dank der Empfehlung seines ehemaligen Kommilitonen Jakob Ehrat erhielt Einstein die Stelle.

1 Wohnhaus und Schulgebäude von Dr. Jakob Nüesch

Von Winterthur kommend, wo er noch einige Zeit an seiner Dissertation gearbeitet hatte, kam Einstein Mitte September 1901 nach Schaffhausen. Dort wohnte er zunächst in der Fulachstrasse 22 im Hause seines Arbeitgebers Dr. Nüesch, der eine private „Lehr- und Erziehungsanstalt“ betrieb. Er war verheiratet und hatte drei Töchter und einen Sohn. Einsteins Aufgabe war es, den neunzehnjährigen Engländer Louis Cahen, der an der ETH in Zürich Architektur studieren wollte, auf die Maturität vorzubereiten. Lehrer und Schüler sind wohl leidlich miteinander ausgekommen. So schreibt der Einstein Biograph Carl Seelig: „Auf beiden Seiten scheint der Lern- und Lehreifer jedoch temperiert gewesen zu sein.“ Aus dieser Zeit sind noch zwei, von Einstein korrigierte Unterrichtshefte, gefüllt mit mathematischen Formeln und Zeichnungen erhalten geblieben. Sie befinden sich heute im Stadtarchiv in Schaffhausen.

2, 3 Arbeitshefte von Louis Cahenmit Notizen Einsteins

Nach einigen Wochen fühlte sich Einstein in seiner Bleibe im Hause Nüesch nicht mehr wohl. Es kam immer häufiger zu Meinungsverschiedenheiten und Streitereien zwischen Einstein und Nüesch.

Einstein suchte sich ein neues Zimmer und fand es in der Fulachstrasse 6 bei dem Lehrerehepaar Cäcilia und Carl Baumer. Über sein neues Zimmer schrieb Einstein am 28. November an Mileva: „Im neuen Stübchen ist es sehr behaglich, wenn dasselbe auch nur mich und den lieben roten Lampenschirm als Zierde hat, …“

Im selben Brief heißt es: „Ich lebe hier, wie wenn ich völlig allein wäre, indem ich mit keinem Menschen privatim verkehre.“

In einem Brief an Mileva schrieb er am 12. Dezember: „Ich beschloß daher, mirs hier so wohnlich als möglich einzurichten. Ich ging daher zu N[üesch] und sagte ihm, er solle mir das Geld zum Essen geben, damit ich eventuell noch eine kleine Ersparnis machen könne. Er sagte, indem er rot vor Zorn wurde, er werde sichs überlegen. Dann hielt er Rat mit seiner saubern Frau Gemahlin. Als ich am Abend wieder kam, war er sehr batzig und sagte mit Autoritätsmine: ‚Sein kennen unsere Bedingungen, es besteht kein Grund, davon abzuweichen. Sie können mit Ihrer Behandlung recht zufrieden sein‘. Da sagte ich: ‚Gut, wie Sie wollen, für den Augenblick muß ich nachgeben – ich werde schon Existenzbedingungen zu finden wissen, die mir besser passen‘. (Denk wie frech, in meiner Lage!) Er verstand dies und wurde sofort mürbe. Er merkte, daß es mir weniger auf eine Ersparnis ankomme als darauf, nicht mehr mit ihm und seiner saubern Familie speisen zu wollen, verschlang seine Wut, und sagte mit möglichst sanfter Stimme: ‚Wären Sie zufrieden, wenn ich Ihnen irgendwo das Essen nähme, in einem Gasthaus?‘ Ich verstand sofort, warum er das wollte – damit man ihm nicht nachrechnen kann, wie viel er von den für mich ausgesetzten 4000 fr. stiehlt. Ich bejahte also vergnügt und empfahl mich mit der Bemerkung, daß er es möglichst schnell einrichten solle, ich hatte ja meinen Zweck erreicht. Die Leute sind nun schäumend vor Wut gegen mich, aber ich bin jetzt eben so frei wie jeder andere Mensch. […] Es lebe die Unverfrorenheit! Sie ist mein Schutzengel in dieser Welt.“

Da ihm auch die schulmeisterliche Idylle bei der Familie Baumer nicht gefiel, suchte er sich im Dezember ein neues Zimmer. Er fand dies in der Bahnhofstrasse 102 über dem Restaurant „Cardinal“ wo er bis zum Ende seiner Lehrtätigkeit in Schaffhausen wohnte.

Mit seinem Schüler ist Einstein trotz dessen mangelnden Lerneifers zurechtgekommen. Er dachte sogar kurz darüber nach, ihn später mit nach Bern zu nehmen um ihn dort weiter zu unterrichten. Aus diesem Plan wurde aber nichts.

Einstein hatte sich am 18. Dezember 1901 durch die Vermittlung seines ehemaligen Kommilitonen Marcel Grossmann um eine Stelle am Berner Patentamt beworben.

In Schaffhausen fand Einstein keinen Gesprächspartner mit dem er sich über aktuelle Themen der Physik hätte unterhalten können. Dennoch beschäftigte er sich intensiv mit der Physik. So schrieb er am 17. Dezember 1901 an Mileva: „Ich arbeite eifrigst an einer Elektrodynamik bewegter Körper, welches eine kapitale Abhandlung verspricht.“ Diese Arbeit führte 1905 letztlich zur Veröffentlichung seiner „speziellen Relativitätstheorie“. Er arbeitete auch an seiner Dissertation, die er im November 1901 an der Universität Zürich einreichte, aber bereits im Februar 1902 wieder zurückzog.

Mit seinem Freund Conrad Habicht der in Schaffhausen wohnte hatte er Gelegenheit gemeinsam Geige zu spielen, oder klassische Konzerte zu besuchen, die ihm gefallen haben. An Mileva schrieb er am 28. November: „Vorgestern Abend veranstalteten die hiesigen Musiklehrer einen Kammermusikabend, der über meine Erwartungen genußreich war.“ Am 11. Dezember hatte er sogar die Gelegenheit bei einem Abonnementskonzert gemeinsam mit Habicht und den übrigen Mitgliedern Geige zu spielen. Sein anderer Schaffhauser Freund, Jakob Ehrat, lebte und arbeitete zu dieser Zeit in Zürich.

4 Mileva Maric, um 1896

Um ihrem Liebsten nahe zu sein wohnte Mileva Maric einige Tage in Stein am Rhein, ca. 20 km entfernt von Schaffhausen, im Hotel Steinerhof. Mileva erwartete ihr erstes Kind. Der verliebte Einstein versuchte seine schwangere Freundin, wenn sich die Gelegenheit ergab, zu besuchen. Dies aber war aus finanziellen Gründen nicht oft möglich. So schrieb Mileva am 13. November 1901: „Jetzt kommst Du wieder morgen nicht! Und sagst nicht einmal: ich komme dafür Sonntag. Aber gellst dann überrascht Du mich sicher. […] Aber hast Du wirklich kein Gelderl mehr? Schöne Sache! verdient der Mann 150fr. hat Kost und Wohnung, und hat am Ende des Monats keinen Centim!“

Albert Einsteins Schaffhauser Aufenthalt und Lehrtätigkeit endete vorzeitig Ende Januar 1902.

Im Februar 1902 kam der 23jährige Einstein nach Bern, wo er im Juni als technischer Experte der 3. Klasse eine Stelle beim Eidgenössischen Amt für geistiges Eigentum antrat.

Bildernachweis:
© Stadtarchiv Schaffhausen: Abb. 1, 2, 3
Schweizerisches Literaturarchivs (SLA), Bern: Abb. 4

Literaturnachweis:

Albrecht FölsingAlbert Einstein. Eine BiographieFrankfurt am Main 1993
John Stachel, u.a.The Collected Papers of Albert
Einstein, Volume 1
Princeton 1987
Carl SeeligAlbert Einstein. Eine
dokumentarische Biographie
Zürich 1954
Martin CordesAlbert Einstein in Schaffhausen
Begleitheft zur Ausstellung
Schaffhausen 2005