IN THE WORLD WIDE WEB

Information

“Why is it that nobody understands me, and everybody likes me?”

Albert Einstein, 1944

EINSTEIN PAPERS PROJECT

(The Collected Papers of Albert Einstein)

In one of the probably most ambitious undertakings in the history of science and publishing they are busy for a few years now with publishing Einstein’s collected papers as a book series bearing the title “The Collected Papers of Albert Einstein”. Sponsored by the Hebrew University of Jerusalem and the Princeton University Press a lot more than 14,000 documents are published in more than 25 volumes. The series which is chronologically arranged consists of two parts: the “Writings” and the “Correspondence”. In the “Writings” you find, among other things, published and unpublished scientific publications, notes, lectures and book reviews of Einstein. The parts of the “Correspondence” include, among other things, the letters written by Einstein, letters to him and important documents. In this book series the documents are portrayed in the language they were written in, all other things are in English.

1 EINSTEIN
PAPERS PROJECT
2 THE COLLECTED PAPERS OF ALBERT EINSTEIN, volume 1 (1987) – volume 16 (2022)

With the Collected Papers a monument is set for one of the probably greatest geniuses of our century. An American professional journal wrote therefore:

“Einstein wished no monument;

this monument is the one he would have accepted.”


Published volumes of “The Collected Papers of Albert Einstein”


Forthcoming:Date of publication:
Volume 17, The Berlin Years: June 1929-November 1930

The “Collected Papers of Albert Einstein”, online freely available

The Princeton University Press provides all previously edited letters and writings of Albert Einstein free of charge. The online available material covers the 15 volumes of the Collected Papers that have been published until now, the adolescence of Einstein, and the time until the year 1927. (as of April 2022)

THE COLLECTED PAPERS OF ALBERT EINSTEIN


Published volumes of “The Collected Papers of Albert Einstein” – English translation of selected texts


5 THE COLLECTED PAPERS OF ALBERT EINSTEIN – English translation of selected texts,
volume 1 (1987) – volume 16 (2022)

Wanted: Einstein autographs!

The Einstein Archives in Jerusalem and the editors of the Papers Project are interested in sifting through a collection of Einstein’s letters that should be as complete as possible, work on them and perhaps publish them in the Collected Papers. As there are a lot of “unknown” Einstein autographs in private possession (for example in the possession of collectors) still today, I would like to ask the respective owners to send me copies of their Einstein autographs. In his process not only the documents of Einstein are of interest but also the ones of his closer relatives, for example of his family. The same applies for letters sent to Einstein. These letters are also of great interest for the Einstein Archives and the Papers Project. I would then send the copies (please with the name of the owner on it) to the Einstein Archives which subsequently would send the copies to the editors of the Papers Project.

Address: Hans-Josef Küpper, Besenbinderstr. 26, D-51145 Cologne / Germany

Email: info@einstein-website.de

The copies can also be sent directly to the Albert Einstein Archives in Jerusalem.

Link to the Albert Einstein Archives, Jerusalem

But what is the advantage for the owner of an autograph worthy for consideration? On the one hand he can be sure to have helped that Einstein’s correspondence is completed, which apart from the editors of the Papers Project is also of great interest for the scientific historians. On the other hand an increase in value may perhaps be the case when mentioning the name of the owner for using the autograph in one of the volumes of the “Collected Papers of Albert Einstein”.

Einstein’s four-line stanza about Isaac Newton from 1927

With friendly permission of the Albert Einstein Archives, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel.

“Observe the stars and you will learn

to honour Newton in your turn.

For each obeys the Master’s laws

ever silent in its course.”

Illustrations Credits:
Einstein Papers Project, Pasadena: 1, 6
Archives of the author: 2, 5
Princeton University Press : 3, 4

IN THE WORLD WIDE WEB

Information

„Woher kommt es, dass mich niemand versteht und jeder mag?“

Albert Einstein, 1944

EINSTEIN PAPERS PROJECT

(The Collected Papers of Albert Einstein)

In einem der wohl ehrgeizigsten Unternehmen in der Wissenschaftsgeschichte und des Verlagswesens ist man seit einigen Jahren damit beschäftigt, Einsteins gesammelte Schriften als Buchserie unter dem Titel „The Collected Papers of Albert Einstein“ herauszubringen. Gesponsert von der Hebrew University of Jerusalem und der Princeton University Press werden in mehr als 25 Bänden weit über 14.000 Dokumente veröffentlicht. Die Serie, die chronologisch aufgebaut ist, besteht aus zwei Teilen: den „Writings“ und der „Correspondence“. In den „Writings“ findet man u. a. veröffentlichte und nicht-veröffentlichte wissenschaftliche Publikationen, Notizen, Vorträge und Buchbesprechungen Einsteins. Die Teile der „Correspondence“ umfassen u. a. die von Einstein geschriebenen Briefe sowie an ihn gerichtete Briefe und wichtige Dokumente. In dieser Buchserie werden die Dokumente in der Sprache dargestellt in der sie geschrieben wurden, alles andere ist in Englisch.

1 EINSTEIN
PAPERS PROJECT

2 THE COLLECTED PAPERS OF ALBERT EINSTEIN, Band 1 (1987) – Band 16 (2022)

Mit den Collected Papers wird einem der wohl größten wissenschaftlichen Genies in unserem Jahrhundert ein Denkmal gesetzt. Eine amerikanische Fachzeitschrift schrieb hierzu:

„Einstein wished no monument;

this monument is the one he would have accepted.“


Bisher veröffentlichte Bände der „Collected Papers of Albert Einstein“


In Vorbereitung:Erscheinungstermin:
Band 17, The Berlin Years: June 1929-November 1930

Die „Collected Papers of Albert Einstein“ – online frei verfügbar

Die Princeton University Press stellt alle bisher editierten Briefe und Schriften Albert Einsteins kostenlos zur Verfügung. Das online gestellte Material ist das der bislang erschienenen 15 Bände der Collected Papers und reicht von den Jugendjahren Einsteins bis in das Jahr 1927. (Stand April 2022)

THE COLLECTED PAPERS OF ALBERT EINSTEIN


Bisher veröffentlichte Bände der „Collected Papers of Albert Einstein“ – English translation of selected texts


5 THE COLLECTED PAPERS OF ALBERT EINSTEIN – English translation of selected texts
Band 1 (1987) – Band 16 (2022)

Einstein Autographen gesucht!

Das Einstein Archiv in Jerusalem und die Editoren des Papers Projects sind daran interessiert, eine möglichst komplette Sammlung von Einstein Briefen zu sichten, zu bearbeiten und evtl. in den Collected Papers zu veröffentlichen. Da auch heute noch sehr viele „unbekannte“ Einstein-Autographen in privater Hand (z.B. bei Sammlern) zu finden sind, möchte ich die jeweiligen Besitzer bitten, mir Kopien ihrer Einstein-Autographen zu schicken. Dabei interessieren nicht nur die Schriftstücke aus Einsteins Hand, sondern auch die aus seiner näheren Umgebung, z.B. seiner Familie. Gleiches gilt für Briefe die an Einstein gerichtet wurden, die ebenfalls für das Einstein Archiv und das Papers Project von großem Interesse sind. Die Kopien, bitte mit Namensnennung des Besitzers, würden dann von mir an das Einstein Archiv geschickt, das dann die Kopien an die Editoren des Papers Projects weiterleitet.

Adresse: Hans-Josef Küpper, Besenbinderstr. 26, D-51145 Köln

E-Mail: info@einstein-website.de

Die Kopien können auch direkt zum Albert Einstein Archiv nach Jerusalem geschickt werden.

Link zum Albert Einstein Archiv, Jerusalem

Was hat der Besitzer eines in Frage kommenden Autographen von solch einer Aktion? Zum einen hat er die Gewissheit bei der Vervollständigung von Einsteins Korrespondenz, die neben dem Einstein Archiv in Jerusalem, den Editoren des Papers Projects, aber auch bei Wissenschaftshistorikern von großem Interesse ist, geholfen zu haben. Zum andern kann bei Verwendung des Autographen in einem der Bände der „Collected Papers of Albert Einstein“, auf Wunsch mit Namensnennung des Besitzers, auch eine „Wertsteigerung“ die Folge sein.

Einsteins Vierzeiler über Isaac Newton von 1927

Mit freundlicher Genehmigung des Albert Einstein Archivs, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel

„Seht die Sterne, die da lehren

wie man soll den Meister ehren.

Jeder folgt nach Newtons Plan

Ewig schweigend seiner Bahn.“

Bildnachweis:
Einstein Papers Project, Pasadena: Abb. 1, 6
Archiv des Autors: Abb. 2, 5
Princeton University Press: Abb. 3, 4