Scientific publications of Albert Einstein:
 

"The Lord God is subtle, but malicious he is not."

Albert Einstein, 1921

LIST OF SCIENTIFIC PUBLICATIONS OF ALBERT EINSTEIN

from 1901-1922

Albert Einstein wrote his first scientific essay in the summer of 1895; he was only 16 years old. This essay Über die Untersuchung des Ätherzustandes im magnetischen Felde (On the Investigation of the State of the Ether in a Magnetic Field) was sent to his uncle Caesar Koch (1854-1941) for an expert’s opinion. In an accompanying letter to his uncle the young Einstein wrote: "If you are not going to read this stuff I will not be annoyed at all; but at least you have to recognize it as a shy attempt to fight against my being a bad letter writer, which I inherited from both my beloved parents." Einstein’s first "scientific work" has never been published.

The list of Einstein’s scientific publications that is presented here begins with the work Folgerungen aus den Capillaritätserscheinungen (Conclusions Drawn from the Phenomena of Capillarity) from the year 1901 and ends with the work Vier Vorlesungen über Relativitätstheorie (Four Lectures on the Theory of Relativity) from the year 1922.

The list is planned to be continued until Einstein’s last scientific publication from the year 1954.

During the years from 1901 to 1954 Albert Einstein published more than 300 scientific works! He got his – annus mirabilis – in 1905. He revolutionized the physics of his time with 5 works he published that year. One of these works was about the Special Theory of Relativity. It was published in the annals of physics titled Zur Elektrodynamik bewegter Körper (On the Electrodynamics of Moving Bodies). The General Theory of Relativity was published in several articles. The final version was published in March 1916 titled Die Grundlage der allgemeinen Relativitätstheorie (The Foundation of the General Theory of Relativity). It was published in the annals of physics, too.

Äther und Relativitätstheorie (Ether and the Theory of Relativity)

1 Äther und Relativitätstheorie (Ether and the Theory of Relativity)
Speech held at the Reich’s University in Leiden on May 5 in 1920

Einstein also very often spoke about scientific works of his colleagues. This happened, among other things, in the way that his statements were published in specialist journals. These "public debates" are not regarded in this list. Neither are the many published essays of Einstein that are not scientific ones but have a somewhat more general character.

____________________________

The present PDF list of Einstein’s scientific publications is presented chronologically. The years stated represent the respective year in which the essay was published. The titles of the essays are listed in the language, in which the essays were published. There is no translation for these titles. The essays which Einstein wrote in cooperation with other scientists, are listed with the name of the respective scientist. Furthermore the essay is mentioned together with its respective edition and the number of the page. With some publications completing information is provided.
 

The Collected Papers of Albert Einstein

All the named publications in the list are, i.e. will be published in the book series The Collected Papers of Albert Einstein and commented in detail.

____________________________
 

List of the scientific publications of Albert Einstein, 1901-1922 (in German, about 120kByte)

Verify that you use Acrobat Reader version 5.0 or higher to view and print these pages.

 

To be able to read this PDF-file you need to have installed the Acrobat Reader – version 5.0 or higher.
If you don’t have it installed yet, a free copy can be accomplished here.

  External link

Adobe Acrobat is a registered trademark.
Adobe logo with friendly permission of the Adobe infoline.

Illustrations Credits:
Hans-Josef Küpper: 1

Back to top


Copyright © 2000-2008 Hans-Josef Küpper. All rights reserved. | Imprint

Wissenschaftliche Publikationen Albert Einsteins:
 

"Raffiniert ist der Herrgott, aber boshaft ist Er nicht."

Albert Einstein, 1921

VERZEICHNIS DER WISSENSCHAFTLICHEN PUBLIKATIONEN ALBERT EINSTEINS

von 1901-1922

Albert Einstein schrieb sein erstes wissenschaftliches Essay im Sommer 1895; er war gerade 16 Jahre alt. Dieses Essay, Über die Untersuchung des Ätherzustandes im magnetischen Felde, schickte er zur Begutachtung seinem Onkel Caesar Koch (1854-1941). In einem begleitenden Brief schrieb der junge Einstein seinem Onkel: "Wenn Du das Zeug gar nicht liest, nehme ich Dirs durchaus nicht übel; Du musst es aber doch zum mindesten als einen schüchternen Versuch anerkennen, die von meinen beiden lieben Eltern geerbte Schreibfaulheit zu bekämpfen." Einsteins erste "wissenschaftliche Arbeit" wurde nie veröffentlicht.

Das hier gezeigte Verzeichnis von Einsteins wissenschaftlichen Publikationen beginnt mit der Arbeit Folgerungen aus den Capillaritätserscheinungen, aus dem Jahre 1901 und endet mit der Arbeit Vier Vorlesungen über Relativitätstheorie aus dem Jahre 1922.

Es ist geplant, dieses Verzeichnis bis zu Einsteins letzter wissenschaftlicher Publikation im Jahre 1954 fortzusetzen.

In den Jahren von 1901-1954 veröffentlichte Albert Einstein über 300 wissenschaftliche Arbeiten! Sein - annus mirabilis - hatte er 1905. Mit fünf Arbeiten die er in diesem Jahr publizierte, revolutionierte er die Physik seiner Zeit. Eine dieser Arbeiten beinhaltete die spezielle Relativitätstheorie. Sie wurde unter dem Titel Zur Elektrodynamik bewegter Körper in den Annalen der Physik veröffentlicht. Die allgemeine Relativitätstheorie publizierte er in mehreren Artikeln. Die Endfassung erschien im März 1916 unter dem Titel Die Grundlage der allgemeinen Relativitätstheorie. Sie wurde ebenfalls in den Annalen der Physik veröffentlicht.

Äther und Relativitätstheorie

1 Äther und Relativitätstheorie
Einstein hielt diese Rede am 5. Mai 1920 zum Antritt seiner Gastprofessur an der Reichs-Universität zu Leiden.

Albert Einstein hat sich auch sehr häufig zu wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten seiner Kollegen geäußert. Dies geschah u.a. in der Form, dass seine Stellungnahmen in Fachzeitschriften publiziert wurden. Diese "öffentlichen Diskussionen" sind in dem hier gezeigten Verzeichnis nicht berücksichtigt. Gleiches gilt für die vielen Publikationen Einsteins, die sich nicht mit wissenschaftlichen Dingen befassen, sondern mehr allgemeinen Charakter haben.

____________________________

Das im PDF-Format vorliegende Verzeichnis von Einsteins wissenschaftlichen Publikationen ist chronologisch geordnet. Die Jahreszahlen beziehen sich auf das Jahr der Veröffentlichung. Die Titel sind in der Sprache angegeben, in der die Arbeiten publiziert wurden. Auf eine Übersetzung wurde an dieser Stelle verzichtet. Bei den Arbeiten die Einstein mit anderen Wissenschaftlern verfasst hat, wird der Name des betreffenden genannt. Des weiteren wird die Druckschrift mit Angabe der jeweiligen Ausgabe und der Seitenzahl erwähnt. Bei einigen Publikationen sind ergänzende Informationen angegeben.
 

The Collected Papers of Albert Einstein

Alle die in dem Verzeichnis genannten Publikationen sind bzw. werden in der Buchserie The Collected Papers of Albert Einstein veröffentlicht und ausführlich kommentiert.

____________________________
 

Verzeichnis der wissenschaftlichen Publikationen Albert Einsteins, 1901-1922  (ca. 120 kByte)

Acrobat-Reader - Version 5.0 oder höher erforderlich.

 

Um diese PDF-Datei lesen zu können, benötigen Sie den Acrobat-Reader - Version 5.0 oder höher. 
Wenn Sie nicht über ihn verfügen, so können Sie sich diesen kostenlos herunterladen.

  Externer Link

Adobe Acrobat ist eine registrierte Handelsmarke.
Adobe-Logo mit freundlicher Genehmigung der Adobe Infoline.

Bildernachweis:
Hans-Josef Küpper: Abb. 1

Seitenanfang


Copyright © 2000-2008 Hans-Josef Küpper. Alle Rechte vorbehalten. | Impressum